Participating States

EUCLID (Pôle Universitaire Euclide / Euclid University) is an international intergovernmental organization whose founders and members are the sovereign states that have submitted an instrument of approval or accession to the intergovernmental agreements entitled (1) “OPEN MEMORANDUM OF UNDERSTANDING (MOU) BETWEEN THE PARTICIPATING EUCLID PARTIES IN EUCLID AS CONSTITUTED AND DEFINED HEREIN” (United Nations Treaty Series I-49006) and (2) “UPDATED FRAMEWORK AGREEMENT REGARDING THE PARTIES’ PARTICIPATION IN EUCLID AS CONSTITUTED AND DEFINED HEREIN” (United Nations Treaty Series I-49007).

EUCLID’s Participating States are categorized as either “MOU Participants” or “Formal State Parties,” the former being the ones that are only parties to the Open Memorandum of Understanding (UNTS I-49006) without completing an additional filing procedure with the United Nations for application of Article 102, the latter being the ones that are also parties to the Updated Framework Agreement (UNTS-49007) and that have provided a form of legal clarification allowing for registration of their participation under international law with the United Nations Treaty Section.

Non-completion of the formal UN registration process by Benin, Vanuatu and Uganda is without prejudice to their status as EUCLID Participating States.

Benin is a somewhat unique case in that its instrument of participation was signed following the ICCI conference of 2008 by the Director of Cabinet of the Minister of Foreign Affairs rather than by the Minister himself, which is why Benin’s participation is considered as non-binding and informal under international law (as subsequently clarified with the government of Benin and the United Nations).

Formal State Parties with UNTS registration (9):

Participating State’s
Highlight of the State’s international engagement Name and Highlights
Saint Vincent and the Grenadines (Americas)VC Highlight: Membership in Commonwealth, CARICOM and Organization of America States.
Sierra Leone (West Africa)SL Highlight: Membership in ECOWAS, Organization of the Islamic Conference.
Eritrea (Horn of Africa / Middle East region)ER Highlight: Membership in IGAD, African Union.
Senegal (West Africa)SN Highlight: Proposed host for EUCLID / IOSD AME HQ
Comoros (Indian Ocean)CM Highlight: Also a Francophonie, OIC and and Arab League Member State
Burundi (Great Lakes Region)BI Highlight: Great Lakes region; actively engaged in inter-ethnic reconciliation and dialogue. Also IOM member and dealing with migration issues.
Central African Republic (Sahel, Congo Basin)CF Highlight: a country and government committed to a process of national nenewal, sound fiscal policy and sustainable development.
Timor-Leste (Asia Pacific)TP Highlight: a newly independent state actively pursuing ASEAN (see flag on right) membership in 2011-2012.
The Gambia (West Africa)GM Highlight: a stable and tourist-friendly coastal state; headquarters since 2013.

EUCLID Participating States as MOU Participants (3):

Uganda (East Africa)VN Highlight: Membership in WTO.
Vanuatu (Asia / Pacific)VN Highlight: Membership in SPC.
Benin (West Africa), for participation on a non-binding basis, scheduled end of program is December 2012.BN Highlight: Membership in Francophonie

Article IV of the founding text also leaves the door open for a wider participation:

“Any State or intergovernmental organization may at any time notify the EUCLID Executive President of its request to participate in the organization. If the request is approved, participation will become effective 15 days after the date of deposit of the proper instrument”

The unique focus of EUCLID’s programs and limited financial and faculty resources require that the benefits of EUCLID participation be limited to specific invited / eligible States, which are as follows: *

  • East-Timor (admitted May 2011)
  • Lesotho
  • Kosovo
  • Vanuatu (admitted December 2008)
  • Suriname
  • Marshall Islands
  • Benin (admitted with special status December 2008)
  • Burundi (admitted May 2010)
  • Comoros (admitted April 2009)
  • Solomon Islands
  • Palau
  • Southern Sudan
  • Botswana

Officials from other countries or international organizations should contact the Secretariat to obtain the current participation/invitation brochure.

Gambia to Host OIC Summit

On the 04th and 05th of May 2024, the Republic of the Gambia will host the 15th Heads of State and Government Summit of the

EUCLID publishes 2023 Annual Report

The EUCLID Secretariat General is pleased to announce the release and publication of the EUCLID Annual Report for the civil year 2023. As the Secretary-General

EUCLID Delegation at COP28

EUCLID (Euclid University) was officially approved as an intergovernmental observer at the COP28 and authorized to send a high-level. Prof Charalee Graydon headed the EUCLID